Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
6/19/19, 6pm - 8pm
AIA New York / Center for Architecture

Please join us as we elect our 2020 leadership, honor those who contribute to the built environment of New York, and celebrate the progress and direction of the Chapter. From public advocacy to professional training and our annual theme of BUILDING COMMUNITY, AIA New York will highlight the challenges and successes from the past year. We will also share our goals for the remainder of 2019.

Honorary Member: Anne Rieselbach, Program Director, The Architectural League of New York
Andrew J. Thomas Award: Supportive Housing Network of New York
Harry B. Rutkins Award: Steven Zirinsky, AIA, Co-Chair, AIANY Building Codes Committee             
George S. Lewis Award: Candace Damon, Vice Chairman and Partner, HR&A Advisors
Public Architect Award: John Lee, RA, LEED AP, Deputy Director for Buildings & Energy Efficiency, NYC Mayor’s Office of Sustainability
Special Citation: Julia Gamolina, Assoc. AIA, Editor, Madame Architect

2020 Board Slate
 can be viewed here.

Independent nominations may be submitted to the Secretary via the chapter ( in accordance with Chapter Bylaws. If an independent slate is submitted, a ballot election will be held at the Annual Meeting. If there is no independent slate, the Secretary is empowered to vote a single ballot for the Nominating Committee slate as presented above.

Proposed Changes to AIA New York Bylaws:

Below is a summary of proposed changes to the AIA New York Bylaws. The text of the proposed changes, which affect multiple sections of the bylaws, is available here

AIA New York Program Committee Co-Chairs

  • The proposed bylaw change will replace the co-chair and vice-chair structure with a two co-chair structure.
  • The proposed bylaw change will institute new co-chair term limits by extending each term to two (2) years and capping the maximum number of consecutive terms to three (3).
  • The proposed bylaw change will institute new succession procedures to be outlined in the Rules of the Board.

2019 AIA New York Nominating Committee:
Gerard F.X. Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, Chair
Tonja Adair, AIA
Joann Gonchar, FAIA
Heather Philip-O’Neal, AIA
Gabriel Smith, FAIA

Please Note: Your registration for this event constitutes your agreement to specific and limited use of your email address, and possibly your image or voice, in related communications. Learn more in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Contact with questions.

As a reminder, AIA National policy requires participants to attend the entire educational portion of an event to receive continuing education credits. We encourage all participants to arrive on time to comply with this policy.

Organized by
AIA New York
6/19/19, 6pm - 8pm
AIA New York / Center for Architecture
Group 6 Created with Sketch.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.